

## The Senate

STATE CAPITOL HONOLULU, HAWAI'I 96813

April 1, 2020

The Honorable David Y. Ige Governor, State of Hawaii Executive Chambers State Capitol Honolulu, HI 96813

Dear Governor Ige:

As the residents of Hawaii operate under your proclamation to stay-at-home, this necessary response to the spread of COVID-19 in our community will have a drastic impact on our economy. Therefore, the Senate Special Committee on COVID-19 would like to begin planning for Hawaii's economic recovery.

However, it is important for this committee to understand the administration's approach to economic recovery. While the parameters of the economic shutdown for Hawaii remain unclear, we note that UHERO has given a tentative revenue forecast of between negative 10% and negative 25% for FY21. *See <u>https://uhero.hawaii.edu/category/forecast</u>. Although the Council on Revenues will not be providing a revenue forecast until May, members of this Committee would like to take a proactive stance on budgetary and economic recovery preparations based upon UHERO's tentative revenue forecast.* 

Please provide by <u>4:00 p.m., Friday, April 3</u>, specific actions based on a timeline on how the administration:

- Will deal with budgetary changes including restrictions, programmatic changes, furloughs or other employment related efforts to contain costs or enhance revenue;
- Will support, enhance and stimulate Hawaii's economy, given the possibility that even after the stay-at-home orders have been lifted, the tourism industry may not return to normal levels for some time to come; and

State Senate, State Capitol 415 S. Beretania Street Honolulu, HI 96813 Governor Ige April 1, 2020 Page 2

• Will reshape and diversify the economy, making Hawaii more resilient to future economic downturns.

Please email your response to all Senate Special Committee COVID-19 members. Should you have any questions, please contact Dane Wicker at 586-6639 or via email at d.wicker@capitol.hawaii.gov.

Sincerely,

Senator Donovan M. Dela Cruz Senator Jarrett Keohokalole Senator Michelle N. Kidani Senator Donna Mercado Kim Senator Sharon Moriwaki Senator Kurt Fevella

Cc. Senate President All Senators